Kale

On nearly every food blog I follow, I have come across a recipe featuring kale.  I know it is a vegetable.  I know it is green (?).  There was a kid at St. Andrew’s who had the same name but spelled it with a C.  When I first met him, I wondered why he was named after a vegetable.  Whoops.  Sorry, Cale.

But seriously.  What is the obsession?  I am a big believer of “don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it” as a life mantra, but I would still love to know from where the love this vegetable stems and how to incorporate it into meals.

Joy and Heidi seem to love it.

Seriously, what is all the fuss about?

I guess I am just going to have to do some investigative work.

20 thoughts on “Kale

  1. Sarah says:

    Please do experiment! I’ve been curious about kale for the past 2 months and need to know how I can use it/how beautiful it is. I’ve had some great dishes with kale, but never prepared them myself. I’m ready to learn.

  2. Susanne Miller says:

    I agree with Sarah, definitely experiment! I always see articles written about how it’s a ‘super-food’ with many nutritional benefits, but I’d love to know how to incoporate it into a meal (that I could make being culinarily challenged).

  3. Carmen says:

    I loooove Joy the Baker! I’m making her vegan chocolate cake with avocado icing for one of my work friend’s birthdays. Can’t wait.

    I’m glad you’re posting again. I loved reading about making the Sheila’s Favorite… so jealous I wasn’t there so you could make me one.

    xo c

  4. Kathryn Taylor says:

    I have to admit I don’t have that much kale experience either, but sub it instead of spinach or broccoli rabe in pasta, omelets, or sauteed w/garlic & red pepper flakes. It can’t be that different..Keep us posted while you eat more of that dark green leafy stuff.

  5. Joe says:

    Kale is pretty good.

    My sis does something with Kale where she throws coconut milk on it and puts it in a steel strainer and then right the burner.

    The burner gives it a real smoky taste. I think it is real good and I hate green things.

  6. top point and shoot cameras 2014 says:

    Great post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I
    am inspired! Extremely useful information particularly the ultimate phase
    🙂 I deal with such information a lot. I was seeking this
    certain information for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  7. Alethea says:

    There is spyware, malware and adware that can infect and damage
    your computer. Text is big and readable, and the device’s screen has excellent contrast for ultimate
    readability.

  8. Garnet says:

    Thanks for any other informative site. The place else may I am getting that kind of
    information written in such a perfect manner? I have a challenge
    that I’m just now operating on, and I have been at the glance out for such information.

  9. minecraft hosting says:

    Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to
    help with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some
    targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success. If you know of any please share.
    Thanks!

  10. Caitlyn says:

    I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Would you offer guest writers to write content for you personally?

    I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on many of the
    subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome site!

  11. Gerardo says:

    Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you, However I am going through issues with your RSS.
    I don’t understand the reason why I cannot subscribe to it.
    Is there anyone else having the same RSS
    issues? Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond?

    Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

