The Enigmatic Nature of Red Velvet

Can someone please describe to me what exactly Red Velvet tastes like?

My sisters adore it, it’s the birthday cake flavor of choice in my office, and bakeries everywhere have seem to suddenly jumped on the Red Velvet bandwagon.  It seems like a new phenomenon.  Maybe it’s just a factor of living in a city like Los Angeles which averages a bakery a block and working in an office where there has been a birthday every two weeks since I started in March (no, seriously) that makes it seem like Red Velvet is EVERYWHERE.  I cannot escape it.

Why does everyone love it so much?  Why is everyone I know constantly on the hunt for the perfect Red Velvet cupcake?  What makes it so glorious?

I simply don’t get it.  I don’t see the appeal.  For a dessert-loving foodie like myself, that’s seen as blasphemy.  And it’s not that I haven’t tried it.  Charlotte has made homemade Red Velvet cupcakes.  I received Red Velvet cupcakes from a well-renowkned bakery in L.A. as a “welcome to your new job” offering.  Every time I open my mind to Red Velvet and think to myself “Okay, I’m going to bite the bullet and try it for the zillionth time”, I’m disappointed.

Whatever happened to good old-fashioned moist vanilla cake with chocolate frosting?  Apparently, the entirety of the country decided to get über trendy and choose Red Velvet as America’s favorite cake flavor.

So if any of you Red Velvet lovers out there could explain to me why you love the flavor, I’d be much obliged.

P.S.-- the color sort of freaks me out.

2 thoughts on “The Enigmatic Nature of Red Velvet

  1. Kathryn Taylor says:

    I am left speechless when eating “red velvet”…..but that is because I don’t get it either. I am always ready for some amazingly moist, perhaps almond flavored confection and all I get is usually too dry, too flavorless, not red enough cake covered in frosting that belongs on a carrot cake. Hit me with vanilla butter cake and rich, fluffy good-old-chocolate frosting. Now THAT is heavenly.

Leave a Reply

